Go To Search

City Courts

Shreveport City Court

The Shreveport City Court consists of four elected judges and their support staff. The court comprises several divisions which provide the necessary support to the judges, the legal community, and the citizens of Shreveport in Ward 4. Shreveport City Court has jurisdiction over all violations of city ordinances and concurrent jurisdiction over state misdemeanor cases. The court also has jurisdiction over civil matters, evictions, and matters involving peace bonds.

Shreveport City Court Judges
  • Division A - Judge R. Lee Irvin
  • Division B - Judge Brian H. Barber, Sr.
  • Division C - Judge Pammela Lattier
  • Division D - Judge Sheva M. Sims

Guide To Practice
In order to assist litigants and attorneys using the Shreveport City Court, the court has created a Guide to Practice.  This document is not meant to be a definitive statement of the law nor may it be cited to the court as support for any position.  This document is merely a tool to be utilized to assist litigants and attorneys in access to the court. Legal citations are provided to assist litigants and attorneys in their quest to determine applicable law and procedure.

Holidays Observed

The following dates have been designated legal holidays and all court offices will be closed thereon.

Monday January 2, 2017
New Year's
January 16, 2017
Martin Luther King’s Day
February 20, 2017
Presidents Day
Tuesday February 28, 2017 Mardi Gras
April 14, 2017 Good Friday
May 29, 2017
Memorial Day
Tuesday July 4, 2017
Independence Day
September 4, 2017
Labor Day
November 1, 2017
All Saints Day
November 23, 2017
Friday November 24, 2017
Thanksgiving Holiday
Monday December 25, 2017 Christmas

Contact Us
City Court
Robert Shemwell
Clerk of Court

Marilyn Pruitt Smith

Judicial Administrator

1244 Texas Ave.
Shreveport, LA 71101

Parking Entrance
1246 Murphy St.

Ph: 318-673-5830

Monday - Friday
8:00am - 4:30pm

City Courts

City of Shreveport, Louisiana